Published: April 5, 2011
Burnham-On-Sea and Highbridge election candidates announced

The candidates standing in next month's town and district council elections in Burnham-On-Sea have been announced this week.

The election on Thursday May 5th will see dozens of candidates battling it out at the ballet box to represent the area on Sedgemoor District Council and on Burnham and Highbridge Town Council.

The district elections will see 125 candidates contesting 48 seats across 23 wards. Several existing district councillors will not be standing for re-election, including Cllr Eric Gill, Cllr John Laband, Cllr Danny Titcombe and Cllr Arthur Thorogood.

The town council candidates are as follows:

Highbridge Ward: Jonathan Bickerton (Liberal Democrats), Pat Burge (Independent), Linda Davis (Labour), Helen Groves (Liberal Democrats), Bill Hancock (Liberal Democrats), Richard Hopkins (Labour), Janet Keen (Conservatives), Roger Keen (Conservatives), Alan Miller (Liberal Democrats), Terry Rickard (Conservative Party), Victoria Thompson (Liberal Democrats), Chris Williams (Independent).

Burnham East: Phil Harvey (Liberal Democrats), Kate Lawson (Liberal Democrats), Martin Lloyd (Conservatives), Paul Mills (Conservatives).

Burnham Central and South: Keith Beckinsale (Liberal Democrats), Michael Clarke (Conservatives), Dennis Davey (Conservatives), Raymond Leach (Liberal Democrats), Sean Watts (Liberal Democrats), Paul Young (Conservatives).

Burnham Marine: Sheila Forrester (Labour), Joe Leach (Liberal Democrats),
Mike Mansfield (Independent).

Burnham North: Peter Burridge-Clayton (Conservatives), Martin Cox (Conservatives), Toby Franklin (Liberal Democrats), Sue Harvey (Liberal Democrats), Neville Jones (Conservative Party), Angie Leach (Liberal Democrats), Bethan Lee (Liberal Democrats), Janty Marsden (Labour), Louise Parkin (Conservatives), Pauline Pollard (Conservatives), Faye Price (Liberal Democrats), Ken Smout (Conservatives), Jackie Tanner (Liberal Democrats).

Burnham West: Andy Brewer (Conservatives), Tom Nicholls (Liberal Democrats).

The district council candidates are as follows:

Burnham Central: Michael Clarke (Conservatives), Dennis Davey (Conservatives), Phil Harvey (Liberal Democrats), Paul Herbert (Conservatives), Kate Lawson (Liberal Democrats), Tom Nicholls (Liberal Democrats).

Burnham North: Becki Bond (Liberal Democrats), Peter Burridge-Clayton (Conservatives), Neville Jones (Conservatives), Angie Leach (Liberal Democrats), Bethan Lee (Liberal Democrats), Janty Marsden (Labour), Ken Smout (Conservatives).

Highbridge and Burnham Marine: Linda Davis (Labour), Helen Groves (Liberal Democrats), Ricky Hopkins (Labour), Janet Keen (Conservatives), Roger Keen (Conservatives), Joe Leach (Liberal Democrats), Mike Mansfield (Independent), Andy Merryfield (Labour), Alan Miller (Liberal Democrats), Chris Williams (Independent), John Woodman (Conservatives).

Read the complete list of candidates for all wards: Town and Parish | District


Bookmark and Share

Search|Add to your Bookmarks|Send a mail from|Print this page|Back to previous page|Discuss this article

Burnham-On-Sea Seafront Webcam
Burnham-On-Sea Webcam
24-hour live pictures
See live images of the seafront and beach with Burnham's Webcam.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Shops
Burnham-On-Sea Shopping Guide
Buy in Burnham!
Support local traders by shopping in town - see our A-Z index of businesses.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Video
Burnham-On-Sea Video
Burnham video news
Watch video highlights of events across Burnham with these video clips.Click here