November 13, 2015
Lib Dems celebrate victory in Highbridge town council by-election

Local Liberal Democrat Party supporters were celebrating in Highbridge last night (Thursday) after their candidate won the Town Council by-election.

Conservative Terry Dommett attracted 230 votes while Lib Dem Victoria Weavell won 451 to become the town's new councillor.

Turnout was low at 16%, with 681 votes cast out of a total 4,261 electorate.

Victoria Weavell thanked those who voted for her, said: "I am delighted to have won, though I'm sad that the turnout was low, but it's still a good majority. It's the start of a lot of work now for me in Highbridge."

Tessa Munt, the town's former Lib Dem MP who was at the election count in Highbridge's Morland Hall, added: "I am delighted for Victoria - she is an excellent candidate who will stand up for Highbridge and I am so thankful to everyone who came out to vote. This is the start of a Lib Dem fightback!"

The Conservative candidate Terry Dommett, right, added: "I am a bit disappointed that not enough people wanted to come out and express their opinion. My team worked hard and I thank them. I will be back next time - and I will continue to work hard for the community, serving on local committees."

The Conservatives continue to have a majority on Burnham and Highbridge Town Council with 12 councillors while the Lib Dems now have five, and there is one independent councillor, as outlined below.

Thursday's election was called after the previous ward councillor, Dawn Malloy, a Liberal Democrat, stood down for personal reasons.


Burnham and Highbridge, Burnham, North Ward

• Andy Brewer (The Conservative Party)
• Peter Burridge-Clayton (The Conservative Party)
• Martin Cox (The Conservative Party)
• Mike Facey (The Conservative Party)
• David Hoggarth (The Conservative Party)
• Louise Parkin (The Conservative Party)

Burnham and Highbridge, Burnham Central Parish Ward
• Phil Harvey (Liberal Democrats)
• Katie Lawson (Liberal Democrats)
• Nick Tolley (The Conservative Party)

Burnham and Highbridge, Burnham, Marine Parish Ward
• Lindsey Ripley (The Conservative Party)

Burnham and Highbridge, Burnham South Parish Ward
• Maria Clarke (The Conservative Party)
• Michael Clarke (The Conservative Party)
• Paul Young (The Conservative Party)

Burnham and Highbridge, Burnham, Highbridge Parish Ward
• Victoria Weavell (Liberal Democrats)
• Bill Hancock (Ind)
• Fiona Hector (Liberal Democrats)
• Janet Keen (The Conservative Party)

• John Parkes (Liberal Democrats)


Bookmark and Share

Search|Add to your Bookmarks|Send a mail from|Print this page|Back to previous page|Discuss this article

Burnham-On-Sea Seafront Webcam
Burnham-On-Sea Webcam
24-hour live pictures
See live images of the seafront and beach with Burnham's Webcam.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Shops
Burnham-On-Sea Shopping Guide
Buy in Burnham!
Support local traders by shopping in town - see our A-Z index of businesses.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea What's On
What's On In Burnham-On-Sea
Things to see and do
Check the constantly updated calendar for what's happening. Click here

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See us on YouTube