A crowd of 1,000 people headed to Burnham-On-Sea on Saturday (August 19th) for the town’s first ever Comic-Con.

Fans of Batman, Star Wars, Superman, and other comic book heroes headed to the Burnham Baptist Church where displays, stalls and visits from film actors proved popular.

There were also comics, props, artists, merchandise, face painting, stalls and a chance for visitors to have photos taken with Pikachu, Spiderman and Dr Who.

A spectacular 35ft marshmallow man also proved to be quite a spectacle, towering over College Street.

Jade Parkes, organiser of Burnham Comic-Con, told Burnham-On-Sea.com: “We had an amazing and incredible day – it far exceeded my expectations and I thank everyone who came along and supported our first event.”

“I’ve received lots of positive feedback form everyone who came along – it was enjoyed by everyone!”

She revealed: “We will definitely be back next summer with a second event in the school holidays, but I’d like to find a bigger venue here in Burnham if possible so we can grow.”

Special guests appeared through the day, including artists and authors such as Alan Flying, Ian Furey King, Simon Fisher-Becker, Paul Grist, UK Negan, Matthew Dale and MK Garrison.