Voters across the Burnham-On-Sea area headed to the polls on Thursday to vote in the General Election to pick the area’s next MP.

Residents across the Wells constituency – which includes Burnham-On-Sea, Highbridge, Berrow and Brean – have been voting all day until polls closed at 10pm.

The four candidates – Conservative James Heappey, Liberal Democrat Tessa Munt, Labour’s Andy Merryfield and the Christian Peoples Alliance’s Lorna Corke – have been busily visiting voters to drum up votes across the constituency in recent days. They also took part in a hustings in Burnham-On-Sea, answering questions from voters.

Many local polling stations reported a busy day of voting, suggesting a high turnout.

The results are due to be announced during the early hours of Friday morning and will be published here on

At the last General Election in May 2015, Mr Heappey won the parliamentary seat with a majority of 7,585 votes, or 46.1% of the vote over Tessa Munt’s 32.8%. Tessa won the seat from the Tories by 800 votes at the previous election in 2010.

Residents in the Burnham South Ward will also be able to vote in a Town Council by-election today. Bev Milner Simonds is standing for the Liberal Democrats and Debbie Matthews is standing for the Conservatives to fill a vacancy on Burnham-On-Sea and Highbridge Town Council. That result is also due early on Friday. will have full coverage of the General Election results and reaction on Friday morning.