Eight town councillors who are stepping down from their roles at May’s elections have been thanked for their work by Burnham and Highbridge’s Mayor this week.

At the last full Town Council meeting before the elections on Monday (April 13th), Mayor Martin Cox thanked the eight, who have decided not to run again.

Those stepping down from the Town Council include Mike Mansfield (40 years in the role), Neville Jones (30 years), Dennis Davey (16 years), Pat Burge (16 years), Chris Williams (14 years), Ken Smout (12 years), Pauline Pollard (8 years) and Helen Groves (4 years).

“After many years of debates and achievements, we shall miss this group of councillors’ experience, which spans 140 years,” said Mayor Martin Cox. “We wish them well for the future and thank them for their work over the years.”

While Mike Mansfield and Chris Williams are standing down from their Town Council roles, they are standing for district council seats on May 7th.

Pictured: Those stepping down from the Town Council are (seated) Mike Mansfield, Pat Burge, Pauline Pollard, Dennis Davey, Helen Groves, Chris Williams and Ken Smout (not present Neville Jones)

Click here for the full list of local election candidates in the Burnham area