Gold-hearted community heroes from across Somerset have been recognised at the latest Somerset County Council Chair’s Award for Service to the Community.

The awards-giving has been an annual event for many years and this year’s ceremony at Taunton Rugby Club was attended by 140 people, including 43 nominees from areas right across Somerset.

The award recipients were nominated by their parish and town councils for recognition of their outstanding contribution to their communities, and were presented with a signed certificate and gift by the Chair of Somerset County Council, Cllr Mike Best, followed by a buffet reception to celebrate their achievements.

Amongst those on this year’s list of honours were Reverend Stephen Gray, a key figure in the establishment of the ‘Be a Good Neighbour Scheme’ in Crewkerne, which provided invaluable support to vulnerable residents throughout the pandemic; and the ‘silent face of Ilminster’, Roger Swann – whose good deeds are so far-reaching, they were described by his community as “hard to condense into words”.

Also celebrated at the event was Compton Dundon’s “great friend to the village”, Leslie Taylor, who sadly passed away recently and whose grandson, Harvey, was honoured to accept the award on his grandfather’s behalf. Les was an active member of the community and formerly the chairman of the parish council, village hall committee and cricket club. His nominator, Steve Lawrence, said: “His input throughout his life has provided Compton Dundon with many of the facilities it enjoys today and, young or old, members of the community continue to benefit from his work.”

Chair of Council, Cllr Mike Best, said: “It is one of the best aspects of this role, to be able to hear stories of – and recognise – dedication, hard work and selflessness from Somerset residents, who clearly love and take pride in their communities.”

“In presenting Leslie Taylor’s award to his grandson, we can see just one example of the good work of our community members hopefully inspiring and influencing the younger generation.”

“Every recipient has made a real difference to their communities. It is a privilege to thank them on behalf of the Council.”

Full list of winners below:

  • Susan & Peter Agland West Camel
  • Susan Barton Otterhampton
  • Mike Batsch Cheddon Fitzpaine
  • Robert Bonar Selworthy
  • Christopher Bramall Stogumber
  • Claire Chettoe Wells
  • Vanessa Clarke Bruton
  • Rosie Darlaston East Brent
  • Andraea Dawson-Shepherd Lullington
  • Geoffrey Francis Mark
  • Gill Gillott Barwick & Stoford
  • Lyn Goodfellow Cheddar
  • Stephen Gray Crewkerne
  • David Gurr Bishops Hull
  • Anthony Habberfield Isle Abbotts
  • Trisha Hands Donyatt
  • Kathy Hedger West Coker
  • Timothy Hiscock Durston
  • Pauline Homesure Wiveliscombe
  • Keith Hunt Old Cleeve
  • Brian Jeanes North Curry
  • Anthony Kent Trull
  • John Learoyd Neroche
  • Angela Lockyer Aller
  • Marlene Mason Watchet
  • Catherine Mathew Charlton Hopethorne
  • Jonathan McIntosh Over-Stowey
  • Jennifer Newton Evercreech
  • Matthew Paul Chapel Allerton
  • Daniel Prettejohn Churchstanton
  • Christine Saint Montacute
  • Daphne & Graham Stanbridge Williton
  • Christine Steadman Godne
  • Roger Swann Ilminster
  • Janet Tapp Watchet
  • Leslie Taylor Compton Dundon
  • Brian Trueman Cucklington
  • Alan Vicary Dunster
  • Iona White Babcary
  • Michael Wooden Ash
Subscribe to our free news updates and join our other subscribers.
No spam, we promise. You can unsubscribe at any time and we'll never share your details without your permission. View our privacy page
Select all options that you require: