May 8, 2015
Tories and UKIP win Burnham and Highbridge District Council seats

The Liberal Democrats failed to win any local seats on Sedgemoor District Council when the results of the district council poll for the Burnham-On-Sea area were announced on Friday evening (May 8th).

The Conservatives dominate the seats in the Burnham and Highbridge wards after Thursday's election.

At the count, held in Bridgwater Town Hall, it was revealed that 12 Conservatives and one UKIP candidate had won, as below.

Phil Harvey, local Liberal Democrat Chairman, expressed his disappointment about the district results. He said: "It is obvious that the District Council election has mirrored the General Election results and voters have voted in a similar way as they did nationally."

"We had fought a campaign with local candidates to highlight local issues but this was subsumed by the national election on the same day. Although we polled well, we were not able to retain our seat in Burnham Central or our one in Highbridge and Burnham Marine, where the two Independents also lost. Our only consolation was that Bill Revans in North Petherton was successful in gaining a seat - a good local campaigner for his area."

Huntspill & Pawlett Ward
• Susanna Louise Peel Craig (Liberal Democrats) 286
• Terry Peers (Green Party) 217
• John Charles Woodman (The Conservative Party) 793 elected pictured

Highbridge & Burnham Marine Ward
• Alan Beech (Labour Party) 499
• Lorna Corke (UKIP) 907 elected
• Forrester Shiela Rachel (Labour Party) 550
• Bill Hancock (Independent) 436
• Fiona Joan Hector (Liberal Democrats) 640
• Janet Anita Keen (The Conservative Party) 937 elected
• Roger Charles Keen (The Conservative Party) 876 elected
• Graham Alan Kennedy (Liberal Democrats) 549
• Tony Lynham 370
• Mike Mansfield 493
• John David Parkes (Liberal Democrats) 599
• James Roughton (The Conservative Party) 564
• Lucy Emily Scanton (Labour Party) 366
• Chris Williams (Independent) 536

Burnham North Ward
• Cheryl Lesley Burnett (The Conservative Party) 1,620 elected
• Peter Laurence Burridge-Clayton (The Conservative Party) 1,883 elected
• Paul Herbert (The Conservative Party) 1,256 elected
• Helen Hims (UKIP) 823
• Alexander Begg Lawrie (Green Party) 422
• Beverly Milner Simonds (Liberal Democrats) 1,029
• Tom Nichols (Liberal Democrats) 861
• Victoria Weavell (Liberal Democrats) 798

Burnham Central Ward
• Maria Clarke (The Conservative Party) 1,367 elected
• Michael Clarke (The Conservative Party) 1,372 elected
• Eve Harriet Courtney (Green Party) 445
• James Donnellan (UKIP) 883
• Mike Facey (Conservative Party) 1,239 elected
• Phil Harvey (Liberal Democrats) 1,076
• Katie Georgina Lawson (Liberal Democrats) 1,029
• Sarah Milner Simonds (Liberal Democrats) 909

Berrow Ward
• Tony Grimes (The Conservative Party): 799 elected
• Andrew William Nisbet (Liberal Democrats): 443

Knoll Ward
• Bob Filmer (The Conservative Party) 1888 elected
• Isobel Fotheringham (UKIP) 647
• Andrew Gilling (The Conservative Party) 1,433 elected
• Tony Gore (Liberal Democrats) 922


Bookmark and Share

Search|Add to your Bookmarks|Send a mail from|Print this page|Back to previous page|Discuss this article

Burnham-On-Sea Seafront Webcam
Burnham-On-Sea Webcam
24-hour live pictures
See live images of the seafront and beach with Burnham's Webcam.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Shops
Burnham-On-Sea Shopping Guide
Buy in Burnham!
Support local traders by shopping in town - see our A-Z index of businesses.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Video
Burnham-On-Sea Video
Burnham video news
Watch video highlights of events across Burnham with these video clips.Click here

Burnham-On-Sea What's On
What's On In Burnham-On-Sea
Things to see and do
Check the constantly updated calendar for what's happening. Click here

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See us on YouTube