A group of Berrow residents was celebrating last night (Thursday) after the village’s play area was named the best in Somerset.

The play area on Berrow Green – which opened in 2010 following a £50,000 National Lottery grant and has been further enhanced since then – was chosen by judges from the Somerset Playing Fields Association and announced at their AGM.

The association announces the county’s best-kept and equipped playing facilities each year and Berrow took top honours by being named as this year’s winning facilities.

Cllr Gillian Wise from Berrow Parish Council accepted the trophy for ‘Somerset’s Best Play Area’ from Jane Barrie, Somerset’s Deputy Lord Lieutenant, and Dave Durdan, Chairman of Somerset Playing Fields Association.

Speaking to Burnham-On-Sea.com, Gillian said: “We are delighted that Berrow play area has been recognised in this way. A lot of effort has been put in to improve the facilities during recent years and many people don’t see the effort that goes into maintaining them, so we really appreciate this.”

The standard of playing fields across the Burnham-On-Sea area was praised. East Huntspill’s New Road Field received a bronze award.

Mark Parish Council was also celebrating after its Vole Road Recreation Area won an award in the play area category.

Will Human, who is pictured below receiving the award on behalf of the council, said: “It’s nice to be recognised – a lot of work goes into keeping the playing areas maintained for the benefit of the community.”

Dozens of representatives from parish councils across Somerset attended this year’s event, held in Woolavington.


1. Berrow Village Green
2. Woolavington – Lower Playing Field
3=East Stour Recreation Field
3= Baltonsborough, Ham Street
HC Mark – Vole Road
HC Ilton
HC Dulverton – Kings Corner, Barl Bridge
HC Dulverton – Barns Close, Armory Road.
HC Carhampton


1 Somerton Gassons Lane
2. Cheddar – Sharpham Road
3= East Huntspill, New Road
3= Nether Stowey Recreation Ground
HC Wembdon
HC Allerford, Hare Park
HC Dulverton Sportsfield
HC Axbridge Jubilee Field
HC Meare, Muddy Lane
HC Shepton Mallet – Collett Park, Park Road
HC Victoria Club, Leigh Road, Street
HC Ash Rec
HC East Huntspill Cricket Club, Merry Lane