Published: May 6, 2010
Polling stations open in Burnham as voters go to the polls

There has been a day of brisk voting at the polling stations across Burnham-On-Sea today (Thursday) as residents cast their votes in the General Election.

Residents in the Burnham area have until 10pm tonight to choose between the six candidates.

The votes will then be counted at Draycott Memorial Hall, a central location in the Wells constituency, and the results are expected to be announced at around 5am on Friday.

The candidates are David Heathcoat-Amory of the Conservative party, Tessa Munt of the Liberal Democrats, Jake Baynes of the UK Independence Party, Richard Boyce of the British National Party, Chris Briton of the Green Party and Labour's Andy Merryfield.

The Wells constituency has 81,292 people registered to vote and at the last general election in 2005, there was a 67.7% turnout when Mr Heathcoat-Amory won with a majority of 3,040 votes from the Lib Dems in second place.

Several churches and schools have been transformed into polling stations today across Burnham as voters go the polls.

A full list of the stations in Burnham-On-Sea and the whole constituency is available here, but to find out where you should vote, consult your polling card. will have full coverage of the result on Friday morning


Bookmark and Share

Search|Add to your Bookmarks|Send a mail from|Print this page|Back to previous page|Discuss this article|

Burnham-On-Sea Seafront Webcam
Burnham-On-Sea Webcam
24-hour live pictures
See live images of the seafront and beach with Burnham's Webcam. Click here

Burnham-On-Sea What's On
What's On In Burnham-On-Sea
Things to see and do
Check the constantly updated calendar for what's happening. Click here

Burnham-On-Sea Shops
Burnham-On-Sea Shopping Guide
Buy in Burnham!
Support local traders by shopping in town - see our A-Z index of businesses. Click here