Over 250 floral, vegetable and craft entries went on display at Burnham-On-Sea and District Horticultural Society’s annual summer show on Saturday (August 10th).

The event, held at Burnham-On-Sea Community Centre, drew a steady flow of visitors through the day to see colourful flowers and other entries, including photos and crafts.

Among the entries was a 22 and three quarter inch runner bean — which won the award for the longest in its class — along with bumper marrows and onions.

Show secretary David Bryant told Burnham-On-Sea.com: “Entry numbers were slightly down on some years but the quality was again excellent.”

“It has been a difficult growing year due to the changeable weather — we have had extreme hot temperatures, high winds and heavy rain at different times in recent weeks!”

The winners were presented with their awards by Ken Hindle from the community centre. 

2019 Burnham-On-Sea Horticultural Show Results

Garden News Shield Vegetables Liz Loze
Society’s Floral Art Cup Liz Loze
Flower fair novice Liz Loze
Most Points Cup David Bryant
Egerton Cup Oscar Brooks
Children’s Cup James Newman
Graham Tankard James Newman
Scrimshire Cup Oscar Brooks
Johns Bakery Cup Joan White
Westdown Cup Joan White
Ken James Cup Dorothy May
Les Sorrell Shield Marilyn Turner
Draycott Trophy Paul Ware
LN Earl Pot Plant Cup Lakin Earl
Society Pot Plant Lakin Earl
Berrow Cup Paul Ware Burnham-On-Sea.com
Richard Berry Cup David Bryant
Garth Jotcham Cup Dorothy May
Garden News Flower Shield David Bryant
Rose Bowl David Bryant
Herbert Smith Cup David Bryant
Olive Parr Memorial Trophy David Bryant
Huish Episcopi Challenge Cup Robin Hewlett
James Keetch Challenge Cup Bert Sone
Chairman’s Cup Bert Sone
Whetstone Cup Not taken
Most Points Fruit Cup Dorothy May
Fruit Cup John Chinn Burnham-On-Sea.com
Pitman Cup Peter Besley
Garden News Shield John Chinn
Brent House CupPeter Besley, John Chinn
Barclay Cup Lynn Arlow
Paul Farthing Cup Bert Sone
Michael Pook Memorial Allotments Cup John Chinn
Sid Lane Memorial Trophy Paul Ware
Banksian Medal David Bryant
NVS Robin Hewlett