The names of the seven candidates that residents in the Burnham-On-Sea area will be able to elect to the role of Police and Crime Commissioner have been announced this week.

On Thursday 5th May, voters across the Avon and Somerset Police area will go to the polls to elect a Police and Crime Commissioner.

Those standing will be Kerry Barker (Labour Party), Chris Briton (Green Party), Paul Crossley (Liberal Democrats), Aaron Warren Foot (UK Independence Party), Sue Mountstevens (Independent), Kevin Stewart Phillips (Independent) and Mark Weston (Conservative).

Residents can vote in the election if they are registered to vote, are 18 or over on 5th May 2016, and are a British citizen, a European Union citizen or a qualifying Commonwealth citizen.

Polling cards with details of the PCC election and the location of polling stations will be posted to all registered electors during this month.

The deadline to register to vote in time for the PCC election is midnight on Monday 18th April 2016.

If you haven’t received a poll card, you may not be registered to vote. You need to register to vote for the PPC election by April 18th to make sure that you can have your say at the ballot box. The easiest way to register is by visiting